Tuesday, December 29, 2009

Egyptian-Spiced Chicken

We both liked this. D said it was easy to make. It seemed to be fast because he made it after a trip to the gym. We had with rice. We were supposed to have with zucchini but I forgot to put it on the grocery list.

Egyptian-Spiced Chicken


This spice blend, known as dukka (DOO-kah) in Egypt, combines sesame and cumin seeds plus nuts, and often other spices. The blend gains a roasted note when the spices and nuts are toasted. Then a little salt on the chicken brings out the robust flavors of the blend.

1/4 cup sliced almonds
1/4 cup sesame seeds
2 teaspoons cumin seeds
2 tablespoons fresh thyme
1 teaspoon black peppercorns
2 large egg whites, lightly beaten
4 (6-ounce) skinless, boneless chicken breast halves
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons olive oil
Cooking spray

1. Preheat oven to 350°.

2. Place first 3 ingredients in a small, dry skillet over medium heat. Cook 2 minutes or until lightly browned, shaking pan frequently. Remove from heat, and cool slightly. Place nut mixture, thyme, and peppercorns in a spice or coffee grinder; pulse mixture 15 times to coarsely chop.

3. Place nut mixture in a shallow pan; place egg whites in another shallow pan. Dip chicken in egg white, and sprinkle with salt; dredge in almond mixture. Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet coated with cooking spray over medium-high heat. Add chicken to pan; sauté 2 minutes on each side or until golden. Place chicken on a baking sheet coated with cooking spray, and bake at 350° for 12 minutes or until done.



Yield: 4 servings (serving size: 1 breast half)

CALORIES 317 ; FAT 14g (sat 2.2g,mono 6g,poly 4.5g); CHOLESTEROL 108mg; CALCIUM 58mg; CARBOHYDRATE 3.8g; SODIUM 274mg; PROTEIN 44.9g; FIBER 1g; IRON 3mg

Cooking Light, AUGUST 2009

Orzo with fresh herbs

Orzo with fresh herbs:

Cook 1 cup orzo pasta according to package directions, omitting salt and fat. Drain; toss orzo with 1/4 cup chopped fresh basil, 2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley, 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil, 1/2 teaspoon salt, and 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper.

Baked Shrimp with Feta

Well this was good but not as good as Greek Shrimp Scampi.
Also seemed to take longer.
We had with Orzo with herbs.

Baked Shrimp with Feta


Dig into a delicious seafood bake topped with tomatoes and feta cheese for a company-worthy dinner in a flash. Orzo accented with fresh herbs completes this Mediterranean-inspired meal.

1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
1 1/2 pounds large shrimp, peeled and deveined
Cooking spray
1 teaspoon olive oil
1/2 cup prechopped onion
1 garlic clove, minced
2 tablespoons bottled clam juice
1 tablespoon white wine
1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1 (14.5-ounce) can diced tomatoes, drained
1/2 cup (2 ounces) crumbled feta cheese
2 tablespoons chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley

1. Preheat oven to 450°.

2. Combine lemon juice and shrimp in a large bowl; toss well. Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Coat pan with cooking spray. Add oil to pan, swirling to coat. Add onion to pan; sauté 1 minute. Add garlic; sauté 1 minute. Add clam juice, wine, oregano, pepper, and tomatoes; bring to a boil. Reduce heat, and simmer 5 minutes. Stir in shrimp mixture. Place mixture in an 11 x 7–inch baking dish coated with cooking spray. Sprinkle cheese evenly over mixture. Bake at 450° for 12 minutes or until shrimp are done and cheese melts. Sprinkle with parsley; serve immediately.


Yield: 4 servings (serving size: 1 cup)

CALORIES 253 ; FAT 7.1g (sat 2.8g,mono 1.9g,poly 1.4g); CHOLESTEROL 271mg; CALCIUM 182mg; CARBOHYDRATE 8.1g; SODIUM 516mg; PROTEIN 37.5g; FIBER 1.6g; IRON 4.7mg

Cooking Light, APRIL 2009

Sunday, December 27, 2009

Bistro Braised Chicken

Yum! This was really good. D said it was easy to make. D thought it would be better with rice, to soak up the sauce. I thought it tasted like a Chicken Noodle Soup and he thought it tasted like stuffing without the stuffing. We will have again.

We had with broccoli.

D noted about CL recipes in general, he always puts butter in the sauce at the end. He says it makes the sauce taste richer.

Bistro Braised Chicken


1 tablespoon butter, divided
8 (4-ounce) bone-in chicken thighs, skinned

1 cup thinly sliced carrot
3/4 cup chopped onion
1/2 cup thinly sliced celery
8 pitted dried plums, chopped (didn't use)
1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
1/4 teaspoon dried sage
2 teaspoons Dijon mustard
1 (14-ounce) can fat-free, less-sodium chicken broth
3/4 cup water
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
4 cups hot cooked egg noodles

1. Melt 1 teaspoon butter in a large skillet over medium heat. Add chicken to pan; cook 6 minutes, browning on both sides. Remove chicken from pan; keep warm.

2. Add remaining 2 teaspoons butter to pan; swirl until butter melts. Add carrot, onion, celery, and dried plums; cook 4 minutes or until vegetables begin to soften, stirring frequently. Stir in thyme and sage; cook 30 seconds. Stir in mustard. Add broth and 3/4 cup water, scraping pan to loosen browned bits; bring to a simmer.

3. Return chicken to pan. Cover, reduce heat, and simmer for 35 minutes. Uncover, increase heat to medium-high, and simmer until sauce is reduced by half (about 10 minutes). Stir in salt and pepper. Serve over noodles.

Wine note: This simple dinner deserves a tasty, affordable wine. Astica Chardonnay 2008 ($6), from Argentina, is made without the use of oak, making it a nice, fruity match for the dried plums in this stew. --Jeffery Lindenmuth



Yield: 4 servings (serving size: 1 cup egg noodles, 2 chicken thighs, and about 1/2 cup vegetable mixture)

CALORIES 483 ; FAT 11.5g (sat 4.3g,mono 3.9g,poly 1.8g); CHOLESTEROL 189mg; CALCIUM 76mg; CARBOHYDRATE 57.3g; SODIUM 765mg; PROTEIN 36.9g; FIBER 5g; IRON 3.7mg

Cooking Light, NOVEMBER 2009

Sunday, November 29, 2009

Chipotle Shrimp Tacos

So D made these the other night. They took about 5 minutes to make. They were really good.
We didn't have a side, because I forgot to write one down, when planning the menu.

Chipotle Shrimp Tacos


Serve with fresh orange sections.

2 teaspoons chili powder
1 teaspoon sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1/4 teaspoon ground chipotle chile powder
32 peeled and deveined large shrimp (about 1 1/2 pounds)
1 teaspoon olive oil
8 (6-inch) white corn tortillas
2 cups shredded iceberg lettuce
1 ripe avocado, peeled and cut into 16 slices
3/4 cup salsa verde


1. Combine first 5 ingredients in a large bowl; add shrimp, tossing to coat.
2. Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add shrimp mixture to pan; cook 1 1/2 minutes on each side or until done. Remove from heat.
3. Heat tortillas in microwave according to package directions. Place 2 tortillas on each of 4 plates; arrange 4 shrimp on each tortilla. Top each tortilla with 1/4 cup lettuce, 2 avocado slices, and 1 1/2 tablespoons salsa.
Beer note: An orange peel–infused Belgian white beer will cool the palate. Hoegaarden White ($8/six-pack), with its cloudy appearance, citrusy-fresh taste, minimal bitterness, and refreshingly tart finish is delicate enough for seafood and excels at extinguishing heat. —Jeffery Lindenmuth


Yield: 4 servings (serving size: 2 filled tacos)

CALORIES 366 (29% from fat); FAT 11.8g (sat 1.6g,mono 5.5g,poly 2.6g); IRON 4.6mg; CHOLESTEROL 259mg; CALCIUM 121mg; CARBOHYDRATE 28.2g; SODIUM 747mg; PROTEIN 37.7g; FIBER 5.4g

Cooking Light, NOVEMBER 2008

Buffalo Chicken Dip

I got this from my friend Gypsy. This is the only way I like Buffalo Wings. The pic is after everyone went to town on it.

Buffalo Chicken Dip

30 oz of canned chicken, drained ( 2cans of 12.5 oz and 1 can 5 oz)
2 8-oz packages of Neufatchel or Low-Fat Cream Cheese
1 8-oz package of Cream Cheese
8 oz package of Sharp Cheddar Cheese
1 Cup Bottled Ranch Dressing
1 Cup Frank's Red Hot Wing sauce

Dump everything in a crock pot. Set on low. Stir every so often (15 minutes or so). Ready when everything is all melted.

Serve with Fritos or celery

Sausage and Cornbread Stuffing

This is just the best stuffing ever! It isn't a WeWa recipe. Just ran it through the
builder.

Sausage and Cornbread Stuffing 

Photo by ALB

POINTS® value |  8
Servings |  12

side dishes |
Ingredients

4 Tbsp butter
1 pound pork sausage
4 link Aidells Cajun style andouille smoked pork sausage
4 large stalk celery
3 cup onion(s)
1 medium green pepper(s)
1 medium sweet red pepper(s)
1 tsp dried thyme
1 tsp ground sage
1 2/3 package cornbread stuffing dry mix
2 1/2 cup reduced-sodium chicken broth

Instructions


Pork sausage, removed from casing or in bulk.
Andouille cut into 1/4-inch dice
celery chopped
onions chopped
green pepper chopped
red pepper chopped
1. Preheat oven to 350, if baking stuffing in casserole dish.
2. Melt butter in a large skillet over medium heat. Add the fresh sausage and
brown for 5 minutes. Break it apart with a fork as it cooks. Put in the andouille
and fry for 3 minutes more. Add the celery, and onions , cover and cook for
about 10 minutes,until the vegetables are soft. Add the peppers and cook,
covered for 5 minutes.
3. In a large bowl, mix the cornbread, sausage and vegetables (including pan
juices) with the thyme and sage. Add 2 cups of stock and mix well. The
stuffing should stick together when mounded on a spoon. Add more stock,
if necessary. Add salt and pepper to taste.
4. At this point, you can stuff the dressing lightly into a turkey or large chicken
and roast it, following your favorite recipe. This recipe yields enough stuffing
for 1 medium turkey (14 pounds), 2 large roasting chickens (5-6 pounds each)
3 frying chickens (3-4 pounds each) oir 6 to 8 squabs or quail.
5. Or you can bake the stuffing separately in a buttered 3-4 qt. casserole. If you bake
it in a casserole, stir in a bit more stock to make up for the liquid the stuffing would
absorb from the bird. Cover the casserole and bake for 45 minutes. Serve warm.
From Bruce Aidells' Complete Sausage Book

Best Carrot Cake

I made this. It was pretty easy to make. The batter was a bit overly sweet and I wasn't sure about it. The result...I thought it was pretty good. Dad thought it was really good as did Bro. D said it was the best he ever had. 2 days later it is still as moist as it was the first.

I actually hand grated the carrots. I didn't like the thickness of the shredded carrots in the store. And I still can't frost a cake all pretty.

Best Carrot Cake

Photo by ALB

Ingredients
2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

3 large eggs
2 cups sugar
3/4 cup vegetable oil
3/4 cup buttermilk
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 cups grated carrot
1 (8-ounce) can crushed pineapple, drained
1 (3 1/2-ounce) can flaked coconut (I measured from a bag of sweetened flaked...couldn't find a can)
1 cup chopped pecans or walnuts (used walnuts)
Buttermilk Glaze (Below)
Cream Cheese Frosting (below)


Line 3 (9-inch) round cakepans with wax paper; lightly grease and flour wax paper. Set pans aside.
Stir together first 4 ingredients.
Beat eggs and next 4 ingredients at medium speed with an electric mixer until smooth. Add flour mixture, beating at low speed until blended. Fold in carrot and next 3 ingredients. Pour batter into prepared cakepans.
Bake at 350° for 25 to 30 minutes or until a wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. Drizzle Buttermilk Glaze evenly over layers; cool in pans on wire racks 15 minutes. Remove from pans, and cool completely on wire racks. Spread Cream Cheese Frosting between layers and on top and sides of cake.


Yield: 1 (9-inch) 3 layer cake


Buttermilk Glaze

1 cup sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1/2 cup buttermilk
1/2 cup butter or margarine
1 tablespoon light corn syrup
1 teaspoon vanilla extract


Bring first 5 ingredients to a boil in a large Dutch oven over medium-high heat. Boil, stirring often, 4 minutes. Remove from heat, and stir in vanilla.


Yield: 1 1/2 cups

Cream Cheese Frosting

3/4 cup butter or margarine, softened
1 (8-ounce) package cream cheese, softened
1 (3-ounce) package cream cheese, softened
3 cups sifted powdered sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract


Beat butter and cream cheese at medium speed with an electric mixer until creamy. Add powdered sugar and vanilla; beat until smooth.


Yield: 4 cups


Monday, November 23, 2009

Prosciutto and Fontina-Stuffed Chicken Breasts

I was pretty impressed with myself for making this. It wasn't easy (for me).
D informed me to pound out the chicken, roll it and secure with toothpicks, so that's what I did.

Subs: 1.5C Bread Crumbs for cracker meal; Pancetta for Prosciutto, Swiss for Fontina

I had with a spinach salad.

Prosciutto and Fontina-Stuffed Chicken Breasts


Finely ground saltine cracker crumbs create a golden crust. You can save the step of making your own crumbs if your supermarket stocks cracker meal; if so, start with about 1 1/2 cups. Serve chicken with a crisp green salad with apple wedges to contrast with the creamy, melted cheese filling.

Cooking spray
1 ounce chopped prosciutto
1 1/2 teaspoons minced fresh rosemary
2 garlic cloves, minced
1/4 cup (1 ounce) shredded fontina cheese
4 (6-ounce) skinless, boneless chicken breast halves
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
42 saltine crackers (about 1 sleeve)
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
2 large egg whites
1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
2 tablespoons canola oil

1. Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Coat pan with cooking spray. Add prosciutto to pan; sauté 2 minutes or until browned. Add rosemary and garlic to pan; sauté 1 minute. Spoon prosciutto mixture into a bowl; cool to room temperature. Stir in fontina cheese; set aside.

2. Cut a horizontal slit through thickest portion of each chicken breast half to form a pocket. Stuff about 2 tablespoons prosciutto mixture into each pocket; press lightly to flatten. Sprinkle chicken evenly with pepper.

3. Place crackers in a food processor; process 2 minutes or until finely ground. Place cracker crumbs in a shallow dish. Place flour in another shallow dish. Combine egg whites and mustard in another shallow dish, stirring mixture with a whisk.

4. Working with one chicken breast half at a time, dredge chicken in flour, shaking off excess. Dip chicken into egg white mixture, allowing excess to drip off. Coat chicken completely with cracker crumbs. Set aside. Repeat procedure with remaining chicken, flour, egg white mixture, and cracker crumbs.

5. Heat pan over medium-high heat. Add oil to pan, swirling to coat. Add chicken to pan; reduce heat to medium, and cook 10 minutes on each side or until browned and done.

Yield: 4 servings (serving size: 1 stuffed breast half)

CALORIES 381 (33% from fat); FAT 14g (sat 3g,mono 6.4g,poly 2.9g); IRON 2.4mg; CHOLESTEROL 113mg; CALCIUM 74mg; CARBOHYDRATE 14.1g; SODIUM 591mg; PROTEIN 46.6g; FIBER 0.6g

Cooking Light, DECEMBER 2008

Bacon, Onion, and Mushroom Pizza

D made this. He called me one night so pissed off about it. The French Bread Dough wouldn't didn't have perforations and it didn't roll out to anythign bigger than a Dessert plate.
He went to the store, bought a Boboli and was done with that part.
He put a little sauce on it, because I frankly don't like pizza without sauce.

The result was very good.

Bacon, Onion, and Mushroom Pizza


1 (11-ounce) can refrigerated French bread dough
2 teaspoons yellow cornmeal
2 teaspoons olive oil
2 cups vertically sliced onions (about 2 small)
1 (8-ounce) package presliced cremini mushrooms
1 1/2 cups (6 ounces) shredded white cheddar cheese
6 bacon slices, cooked and coarsely crumbled
1/2 cup finely chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley

1. Find lengthwise seam in dough. Beginning at seam, gently unroll dough into a rectangle on a lightly floured surface. Stretch dough into a 12-inch circle on a lightly floured surface; transfer to a round pizza pan or large baking sheet sprinkled with cornmeal.

2. Preheat oven to 425°.

3. Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add olive oil to pan; swirl to coat. Add onion; sauté 8 minutes, stirring occasionally. Place chopped onion in a bowl. Add cremini mushrooms to pan; sauté 8 minutes or until liquid almost evaporates. Add mushrooms to onion mixture; toss. Spread onion mixture evenly over prepared dough, leaving a 1/4-inch border. Sprinkle evenly with white cheddar cheese and bacon. Bake at 425° for 15 minutes or until crust is lightly browned. Sprinkle with parsley. Cut into 12 wedges.

Yield: 6 servings (serving size: 2 wedges)

CALORIES 316 ; FAT 14.9g (sat 6.6g,mono 5.5g,poly 1g); CHOLESTEROL 37mg; CALCIUM 224mg; CARBOHYDRATE 31.1g; SODIUM 682mg; PROTEIN 15.6g; FIBER 0.9g; IRON 1.9mg

Cooking Light, OCTOBER 2009

Parmesan and Black Pepper Smashed Potatoes

So I made these the other night. I halved the recipe. Very easy!!!
They were really good and you could taste the Parm Cheese. Leftovers, though, the taste died out.

I made with the Parmesan Pork Chops.

Parmesan and Black Pepper Smashed Potatoes


3 pounds peeled baking potatoes, cut into 1-inch pieces
1 1/4 teaspoons salt, divided
2 tablespoons butter
1 1/2 cups (6 ounces) freshly grated Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese
3/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1 1/2 cups 2% reduced-fat milk
1/4 cup chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley

1. Place potatoes in a saucepan, and cover with cold water to 2 inches above. Add 1/4 teaspoon salt; bring to a boil. Reduce heat, and simmer 15 minutes or until tender; drain. Return the potatoes to pan over low heat; add remaining 1 teaspoon salt and butter to pan. Mash the potatoes with a potato masher to desired consistency.

2. Add cheese and pepper to potato mixture; stir until cheese melts. Stir in milk; cook 1 minute or until thoroughly heated, stirring frequently. Remove from heat; stir in parsley.

Yield: 12 servings (serving size: about 2/3 cup)

CALORIES 181 (32% from fat); FAT 6.5g (sat 4.1g,mono 1.9g,poly 0.2g); IRON 1.2mg; CHOLESTEROL 18mg; CALCIUM 232mg; CARBOHYDRATE 22.6g; SODIUM 428mg; PROTEIN 8.9g; FIBER 1.6g

Cooking Light, NOVEMBER 2008

Monday, November 2, 2009

Swordfish with Cilantro-Lime Cream

So we had this a few weeks ago. It was really good. Especially with rice.

Swordfish with Cilantro-Lime Cream


Stephen Sumner loves fish. In this straightforward presentation, he sauces one of his favorites, swordfish, with cilantro and fresh lime juice.

About 1 pound swordfish steaks (3/4 in. thick)
2 to 3 tablespoons Italian-style bread crumbs
2 tablespoons butter or margarine
2 tablespoons minced green onion
2 tablespoons minced fresh cilantro, plus a few sprigs
2 tablespoons lime juice
3 tablespoons whipping cream
Lime wedges

1. Rinse swordfish steaks and pat dry. Dust with bread crumbs.

2. Melt butter in a 10- to 12-inch nonstick frying pan over medium-high heat; add swordfish and cook until browned on bottom, about 4 minutes. Turn fish over and cook until browned on other side and opaque but still moist in center (cut to test), 4 to 5 more minutes. Transfer fish to a warm platter; keep warm.

3. Add onion to pan and stir just to wilt, about 30 seconds. Add cilantro, lime juice, and cream, stirring until it boils vigorously, 1 to 2 minutes. Divide fish among 3 dinner plates. Pour sauce equally over fish. Garnish each plate with a lime wedge and cilantro sprigs


Yield: Makes 3 servings

CALORIES 297 (55% from fat); FAT 18g (sat 9.2g); CHOLESTEROL 90mg; CARBOHYDRATE 5.2g; SODIUM 338mg; PROTEIN 28g; FIBER 0.3g

Sunset, FEBRUARY 1997

Monday, October 12, 2009

Adobo Chicken

So D made this. He said it was easy. He also said it was nothing like what he expected. I'll give him that one, because when I saw Adobo I thought chipotle chiles (in adobo sauce). Anyway given the ingredients, we both knew we would like it and we were right. The sauce was really good on the rice. We had with Haricot Verts.

Adobo Chicken

Photo by ALB

Serve this tangy Philippine dish with two large navel oranges cut into wedges.

Ingredients
1 tablespoon canola oil
8 bone-in chicken thighs, skinned
2 cups chopped onion
5 garlic cloves, minced
6 tablespoons low-sodium soy sauce
3 tablespoons water
3 tablespoons white vinegar
2 tablespoons honey
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1 bay leaf
3 cups hot cooked long-grain rice


Preparation
1. Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add chicken to pan; sauté 4 minutes on each side or until browned. Remove chicken from pan. Add onion to pan; sauté 3 minutes. Add garlic; sauté 1 minute, stirring frequently.
2. Return chicken to pan. Add soy sauce and next 5 ingredients (through bay leaf); bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium; cover and cook 12 minutes. Uncover and cook 20 minutes or until chicken is done and sauce thickens. Discard bay leaf. Serve over rice.
Yield: 4 servings (serving size: 2 thighs and about 6 tablespoons sauce)

Nutritional Information
CALORIES 483 ; FAT 14.7g (sat 3.4g,mono 6.3g,poly 3.6g); CHOLESTEROL 99mg; CALCIUM 55mg; CARBOHYDRATE 53g; SODIUM 888mg; PROTEIN 33.1g; FIBER 2.2g; IRON 3.8mg

Cooking Light, OCTOBER 2009

Wednesday, September 30, 2009

Three-Cheese Baked Penne

This was really good. No clue about easiness. D made it while I was learning to change bike tires.

Three-Cheese Baked Penne


2 1/2 cups uncooked whole wheat penne (about 8 ounces tube-shaped pasta)
Cooking spray
2 (4-ounce) links sweet turkey Italian sausage (used regular sausage)
1 cup finely chopped green bell pepper
1 1/2 teaspoons dried Italian seasoning
1 teaspoon crushed red pepper
1/8 teaspoon black pepper
10 grape or cherry tomatoes, halved (we didn't use)
1 garlic clove, minced
Dash of salt
1 (8-ounce) can garlic-and-herb tomato sauce
3/4 cup (3 ounces) shredded part-skim mozzarella cheese
1/2 cup (2 ounces) crumbled goat cheese
1/4 cup (1 ounce) grated fresh Parmesan cheese

1. Preheat oven to 350°.

2. Cook pasta according to package directions, omitting salt and fat. Drain and keep warm.

3. Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Coat pan with cooking spray. Remove casings from sausage. Add sausage to pan; cook 2 minutes, stirring to crumble. Add bell pepper and next 6 ingredients (through salt) to pan; sauté 6 minutes or until bell pepper is tender. Stir in tomato sauce. Reduce heat, and simmer 5 minutes. Add pasta to pan, tossing gently to coat. Spoon pasta mixture into an 8-inch square baking dish coated with cooking spray. Stir in mozzarella and goat cheese; sprinkle with Parmesan. Bake at 350° for 7 minutes or until bubbly and top is browned.

Wine note: I find whole wheat pasta often tastes best with red wine, which underscores the earthiness of the hearty pasta. And, of course, red wine and sausage is a match made in heaven. Try a Tuscan red: Villa Antinori Toscana. It's a little richer and fuller than Chianti; the 2004 is $23. —Karen MacNeil

Yield: 6 servings (serving size: 1 1/4 cups)

CALORIES 326 (30% from fat); FAT 10.9g (sat 5.8g,mono 2.9g,poly 1g); IRON 3mg; CHOLESTEROL 47mg; CALCIUM 211mg; CARBOHYDRATE 38.9g; SODIUM 641mg; PROTEIN 20.8g; FIBER 4.9g

Cooking Light, MAY 2008

Creamy Cajun Shrimp Linguine

So this was pretty good. We used a green pepper because the grocery store didn't have red.
It was pretty quick to make, because I called D to let him know where I was in traffic and 20 minutes later when I got home, it was done.

Will have again. We had no side.

Creamy Cajun Shrimp Linguine


Shrimp and pasta combine with a creamy sauce for a quick and delicious dish. Round out the meal with a Caesar salad.
1 cup water
1 (14-ounce) can fat-free, less-sodium chicken broth
6 ounces uncooked linguine
1 pound medium shrimp, peeled and deveined
1 1/2 tablespoons butter
1 (8-ounce) package presliced mushrooms
1 large red bell pepper, cut into (1/4-inch-thick) slices
2 teaspoons all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon Cajun seasoning
1/4 teaspoon salt
2/3 cup half-and-half
1/4 cup chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley

Combine 1 cup water and broth in a Dutch oven; bring to a boil. Break pasta in half; add to pan. Bring mixture to a boil. Cover, reduce heat, and simmer for 8 minutes. Add shrimp to pan. Cover and simmer for 3 minutes or until shrimp are done; drain.

Melt butter in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add mushrooms and pepper to pan; sauté 4 minutes or until moisture evaporates. Add flour, seasoning, and salt to pan; sauté 30 seconds. Stir in half-and-half; cook 1 minute or until thick, stirring constantly. Remove from heat. Add pasta mixture and parsley to pan; toss.

Yield: 4 servings (serving size: 1 1/2 cups)

CALORIES 365 (27% from fat); FAT 10.9g (sat 5.9g,mono 2.7g,poly 0.8g); IRON 4.1mg; CHOLESTEROL 194mg; CALCIUM 101mg; CARBOHYDRATE 38.1g; SODIUM 685mg; PROTEIN 27.4g; FIBER 2.2g

Tuesday, September 15, 2009

Watercress Salad with Pan-Seared Mahimahi

So I made this last night. I halved the recipe since it was just me. Terribly easy.
I wasn't sure of the shallots, but they added a spiciness to the salad. I used 2 Roma Tomatoes, since I have never even seen a yellow tomato. I also didn't put olive oil in the dressing, but that was because my eyes skipped over that part.

Enough flavor, incredibly easy and can easily make one serving. Will have again.

Watercress Salad with Pan-Seared Mahimahi


Tomatoes boost vitamin C and deliver lycopene. Shallots are particularly high in phenols, a compound that may protect against cancer. Rounding out the dish with a lean fish delivers heart-healthy protein and fat.

2 1/2 teaspoons extravirgin olive oil, divided
2 (6-ounce) mahimahi fillets
1/4 teaspoon salt, divided
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper, divided
2 cups watercress
2 cups torn Bibb lettuce
1/2 cup chopped yellow tomato
1/2 cup chopped red tomato
1/4 cup thinly sliced shallots
1 tablespoon red wine vinegar
1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
2 teaspoons honey
1/2 teaspoon Dijon mustard

1. Heat 1 teaspoon oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Sprinkle fish evenly with 1/8 teaspoon salt and 1/8 teaspoon pepper. Add fish to pan; cook 4 minutes or until browned. Carefully turn fish over; cook 3 minutes or until fish flakes easily when tested with a fork or desired degree of doneness. Remove fish from pan; keep warm.

2. Combine watercress, lettuce, tomatoes, and shallots in a large bowl. Combine vinegars, honey, mustard, remaining 1/8 teaspoon salt, and remaining 1/8 teaspoon pepper in a small bowl; gradually add remaining 1 1/2 teaspoons oil, stirring with a whisk. Pour vinaigrette over lettuce mixture; toss gently to coat. Arrange 2 1/2 cups lettuce mixture on each of 2 plates; top each serving with 1 fillet.

Yield: 2 servings

CALORIES 220 (28% from fat); FAT 6.9g (sat 1.1g,mono 4.3g,poly 1g); IRON 2.7mg; CHOLESTEROL 93mg; CALCIUM 95mg; CARBOHYDRATE 13.4g; SODIUM 468mg; PROTEIN 26.1g; FIBER 1.9g

Cooking Light, MAY 2008

Tuesday, September 1, 2009

Vietnamese Caramelized Pork with Coriander Rice

My only complaint of this recipe was the spinach. 4 oz of raw spinach feeds 4 people...no way.

The pork was sweet and I liked it with the rice. The strips could easily be converted to a chop.

Vietnamese Caramelized Pork with Coriander Rice


Caramelized sugar creates a sweet-salty glaze for marinated pork strips. Served with spinach and rice, it's a satisfying one-dish meal.

Marinade:
1 pound thin-cut boneless center-cut pork loin chops, trimmed
1 tablespoon brown sugar
1 tablespoon fresh lime juice
1 tablespoon fish sauce
1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper
4 garlic cloves, minced
1/4 cup chopped green onions

Rice:
1/4 teaspoon coriander seeds, crushed
2 cups water
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup uncooked long-grain white rice
1 tablespoon chopped fresh cilantro

Remaining ingredients:
Cooking spray
3 tablespoons granulated sugar
1 tablespoon water
2 teaspoons peanut oil
1 teaspoon grated peeled fresh ginger
1 teaspoon minced garlic
6 cups packed baby spinach leaves (about 4 ounces)
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup chopped green onions
2 tablespoons coarsely chopped fresh mint leaves

1. To prepare marinade, cut pork across grain into 1/4-inch-thick slices. Combine pork and next 5 ingredients (through 4 garlic cloves) in a large zip-top plastic bag. Add 1/4 cup green onions to bag; seal. Marinate in refrigerator 30 minutes, turning occasionally.

2. While pork marinates, prepare rice. Cook coriander in a medium saucepan over medium-high heat 1 minute or until lightly toasted, stirring frequently. Add 2 cups water and 1/4 teaspoon salt to pan; bring to a boil. Stir in rice; cover, reduce heat, and simmer 16 minutes or until liquid is absorbed. Stir in cilantro.

3. Remove pork from bag; discard marinade. Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Coat pan with cooking spray. Add pork to pan; sauté 1 minute or until lightly browned. Remove pork from pan; wipe pan clean with paper towels.

4. Add granulated sugar and 1 tablespoon water to pan; cook over medium-high heat 1 minute or until sugar dissolves, stirring constantly. Continue cooking 4 minutes or until golden (do not stir). Return pork to pan; cook 1 minute, tossing to coat. Transfer pork mixture to a bowl.

5. Heat oil in pan over medium heat. Add ginger and 1 teaspoon garlic to pan; cook 30 seconds, stirring constantly. Add half of spinach to pan; cover and cook 1 minute or until spinach wilts. Remove from heat. Add remaining spinach and 1/4 teaspoon salt to pan; toss to combine. Transfer spinach to a platter; top with pork mixture. Sprinkle with 1/4 cup green onions and mint. Serve with rice.

Wine note: With the vibrant flavors of this dish, reach for a full-bodied yet refreshing white, like Nobilo Pinot Gris ($13) from New Zealand. This wine has a touch of sweetness that complements the sweet pork and caramelized glaze while balancing the ginger and red pepper heat. Bright acid and citrus flavors ready your palate for another bite. —Jeffery Lindenmuth

Yield: 4 servings (serving size: 1/2 cup pork mixture, 1/2 cup spinach, and 1/2 cup rice)

CALORIES 440 (17% from fat); FAT 8.5g (sat 2.5g,mono 3.8g,poly 1.5g); IRON 4mg; CHOLESTEROL 71mg; CALCIUM 84mg; CARBOHYDRATE 59g; SODIUM 772mg; PROTEIN 30.1g; FIBER 2.7g

Cooking Light, OCTOBER 2008

Marinated Grilled Chicken Legs

D made this last week. It was really good. Neither of us felt there was one ingredient that overpowered the rest. The legs were really juicy. We had with corn-on-the-cob.

Marinated Grilled Chicken Legs


1 cup fresh orange juice
2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
4 teaspoons low-sodium soy sauce
1 tablespoon dry sherry

1 1/2 teaspoons bottled minced garlic
1 1/2 teaspoons balsamic vinegar
1 1/2 teaspoons basil oil (used dried basil and olive oil)
1 teaspoon onion powder
1 teaspoon dark sesame oil
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon hot pepper sauce
8 chicken drumsticks (about 2 1/4 pounds), skinned
Cooking spray
Green onion strips (optional)

Combine the first 11 ingredients in a large zip-top plastic bag. Add chicken to bag; seal. Marinate in refrigerator 2 hours, turning bag occasionally.

Prepare grill.

Remove chicken from bag, reserving marinade. Place reserved marinade in a small saucepan; cook over medium heat 3 minutes. Place chicken on grill coated with cooking spray; grill 30 minutes or until chicken is done, turning and basting occasionally with reserved marinade. Garnish with green onion strips, if desired.

Yield: 4 servings (serving size: 2 drumsticks)

CALORIES 215 (31% from fat); FAT 7.5g (sat 1.8g,mono 2.8g,poly 1.8g); IRON 1.5mg; CHOLESTEROL 97mg; CALCIUM 18mg; CARBOHYDRATE 4.4g; SODIUM 339mg; PROTEIN 30g; FIBER 0.1g

Cooking Light, JUNE 2005

Thursday, August 27, 2009

Oven-Fried Chicken Parmesan

I liked this one. D made it. He said it was easy. It had a lot of cheese. Not a lot of sauce but I just added another teaspoon. We had with whole wheat spaghetti.

Oven-Fried Chicken Parmesan


Photo by ALB

Ingredients
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 large egg whites, lightly beaten
3/4 cup panko (Japanese breadcrumbs)- we used cornflake breadcrumbs bc that's what we had.
4 (6-ounce) skinless, boneless chicken breast halves
2 tablespoons olive oil, divided
Cooking spray
1/2 cup jarred tomato-basil pasta sauce
1/2 cup (2 ounces) grated Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese
3/4 cup (3 ounces) shredded part-skim mozzarella cheese


Preparation
1. Preheat oven to 450°.
2. Combine first 3 ingredients in a shallow dish; place egg whites in a bowl. Place panko in a shallow dish. Dredge 1 breast half in flour mixture. Dip in egg whites; dredge in panko. Repeat procedure with remaining chicken, flour mixture, egg whites, and panko.
3. Heat 1 tablespoon oil in a large ovenproof skillet over medium-high heat. Add chicken to pan; cook 2 minutes. Add remaining 1 tablespoon oil. Turn chicken over; cook 2 minutes. Coat chicken with cooking spray; place pan in oven. Bake at 450° for 5 minutes. Turn chicken over; top each breast half with 2 tablespoons sauce, 2 tablespoons Parmigiano-Reggiano, and 3 tablespoons mozzarella. Bake 6 minutes or until chicken is done.
Yield: 4 servings (serving size: 1 breast half)

Nutritional Information
CALORIES 401 ; FAT 16.9g (sat 6.4g,mono 7.6g,poly 1.3g); CHOLESTEROL 95mg; CALCIUM 352mg; CARBOHYDRATE 15.9g; SODIUM 719mg; PROTEIN 44.4g; FIBER 0.6g; IRON 1.8mg

Cooking Light, SEPTEMBER 2009

Cold Sesame Noodles with Chicken and Cucumbers

I really didn't taste the sesame flavor in this. It was good the first day. D said it was easy to make. The second day, it was really slimy. So good for dinner, but not for left-overs.

Cold Sesame Noodles with Chicken and Cucumbers


We use dried udon noodles; if using fresh noodles, you'll need about 11 ounces.

8 ounces uncooked dried udon noodles
1/4 cup rice vinegar
2 tablespoons dark sesame oil
2 tablespoons low-sodium soy sauce
1 tablespoon honey
2 teaspoons sambal oelek or chile paste with garlic
1/2 teaspoon bottled ground fresh ginger
2 cups shredded skinless, boneless rotisserie chicken breast
2 medium cucumbers, halved lengthwise and sliced
6 tablespoons chopped green onions
3 tablespoons chopped dry-roasted peanuts

1. Cook noodles according to package directions, omitting salt and fat. Drain and rinse under cold water; drain.

2. Combine rice vinegar and the next 5 ingredients (through ginger) in a large bowl, and stir with a whisk. Add noodles, chicken, and cucumbers to bowl; toss gently to coat. Top with green onions and peanuts.

Wine note: Floral, zippy white wines from Argentina, like the 2007 Alamos Torrontes ($10), pair incredibly well with Asian-inspired dishes. -Gary Vaynerchuck

Yield: 6 servings (serving size: about 1 cup noodle mixture, 1 tablespoon onions, and 1 1/2 teaspoons peanuts)

CALORIES 302 ; FAT 9.2g (sat 1.4g,mono 3.3g,poly 2.8g); CHOLESTEROL 40mg; CALCIUM 34mg; CARBOHYDRATE 32.6g; SODIUM 301mg; PROTEIN 21.5g; FIBER 3.1g; IRON 2.3mg

Cooking Light, SEPTEMBER 2009

Five-Spice Pork Lo Mein

I want to like this, really I do. But it just tastes weird to me. This is the 2nd time we have had this. It is really easy. But the taste just is odd to me. It's like Morroccan or Indian meets Chinese. I can't explain it, just enough to know I don't like 5-Spice.

Five-Spice Pork Lo Mein


Chinese five-spice powder is a common spice blend that can be found in most supermarkets. Its five assertive compo-nents are cinnamon, cloves, fennel seed, star anise, and Szechuan peppercorns. Cutting the cooked noodles makes them easier to combine with the other ingredients and serve.
8 ounces uncooked Chinese-style noodles
1 tablespoon grated peeled fresh ginger
2 teaspoons five-spice powder
1 (3/4-pound) pork tenderloin, trimmed and cut into thin strips
1/2 teaspoon salt, divided
2 tablespoons toasted peanut oil
1/4 cup water
1/4 cup hoisin sauce
1/2 cup chopped green onions

Cook noodles according to package directions, omitting salt and fat; drain. Place in a large bowl. Snip noodles several times with kitchen scissors.

Combine ginger, five-spice powder, and pork in a medium bowl; add 1/4 teaspoon salt, tossing to coat. Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add pork mixture; sauté 2 minutes or until browned. Stir in remaining 1/4 teaspoon salt, water, and hoisin sauce; cook 2 minutes or until pork is done. Add pork mixture and green onions to noodles; toss well to combine.

Yield: 6 servings (serving size: 1 1/3 cups)

CALORIES 273 (29% from fat); FAT 8.9g (sat 1.9g,mono 3.6g,poly 2g); IRON 2.8mg; CHOLESTEROL 38mg; CALCIUM 31mg; CARBOHYDRATE 34.8g; SODIUM 399mg; PROTEIN 16.3g; FIBER 5.7g

Cooking Light, JULY 2005

Sunday, August 23, 2009

Steamed Zucchini with Herb Sauce

Neither D nor I liked it. It was too watery even though he steamed it. The sauce wasn't very flavorful. Bleh!

Steamed Zucchini with Herb Sauce


If you can find an heirloom zucchini called Costata Romanesca, you're in for a treat. It's a delicious, dense zucchini distinguished from the usual garden variety by raised ribs that run the length of its body. When cut crosswise, it makes a pretty scalloped slice. Otherwise, use standard zucchini. A bright parsley-caper sauce adds a fresh, slightly salty note to this simple steamed vegetable.


1/4 cup finely chopped fresh parsley
3 tablespoons finely chopped shallots
1 tablespoon chopped fresh basil
1 tablespoon chopped capers
2 teaspoons grated lemon rind
1 teaspoon chopped fresh oregano
2 teaspoons extravirgin olive oil
1 teaspoon fresh lemon juice
1/4 teaspoon sea salt
6 cups (1/4-inch-thick) slices zucchini (about 2 pounds)


Combine first 9 ingredients in a large bowl; set aside.

Steam zucchini, covered, 4 minutes or until crisp-tender. Add to parsley mixture in bowl; toss gently to coat.

Yield: 4 servings (serving size: about 3/4 cup)

CALORIES 65 (39% from fat); FAT 2.8g (sat 0.4g,mono 1.9g,poly 0.4g); IRON 1.2mg; CHOLESTEROL 0.0mg; CALCIUM 47mg; CARBOHYDRATE 9.6g; SODIUM 233mg; PROTEIN 3.1g; FIBER 2.9g

Cooking Light, SEPTEMBER 2007

Thursday, August 20, 2009

Herbed Greek Chicken Salad

So I made this. It took about 45 minutes at the most. I first prepped because I thought D would be making it. So I put the first 4 spices together, and then I made the sauce. Then he texted me he was on his way, and I looked at the recipe and said, "I can do this!" So I did. Pretty simple. I was surprised how much flavor was on the Chicken.

I measured the salad out, probably had a bit more cucumber, but the right amount of lettuce and tomatoes.

The result: Very easy, and very good. We each had 2 servings. D brought home pita from work (much better than grocery pita), so we each had a pita also.






Herbed Greek Chicken Salad


1 teaspoon dried oregano
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

3/4 teaspoon black pepper, divided
1/2 teaspoon salt, divided
Cooking spray
1 pound skinless, boneless chicken breast, cut into 1-inch cubes

5 teaspoons fresh lemon juice, divided
1 cup plain fat-free yogurt

2 teaspoons tahini (sesame-seed paste)
1 teaspoon bottled minced garlic
8 cups chopped romaine lettuce
1 cup peeled chopped English cucumber (I used a regular cuke)
1 cup grape tomatoes, halved
6 pitted kalamata olives, halved
1/4 cup (1 ounce) crumbled feta cheese

Combine oregano, garlic powder, 1/2 teaspoon pepper, and 1/4 teaspoon salt in a bowl. Heat a nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Coat pan with cooking spray. Add chicken and spice mixture; sauté until chicken is done. Drizzle with 1 tablespoon juice; stir. Remove from pan.

Combine remaining 2 teaspoons juice, remaining 1/4 teaspoon salt, remaining 1/4 teaspoon pepper, yogurt, tahini, and garlic in a small bowl; stir well. Combine lettuce, cucumber, tomatoes, and olives. Place 2 1/2 cups of lettuce mixture on each of 4 plates. Top each serving with 1/2 cup chicken mixture and 1 tablespoon cheese. Drizzle each serving with 3 tablespoons yogurt mixture.

Yield: 4 servings

CALORIES 243 (29% from fat); FAT 7.7g (sat 2.3g,mono 2.9g,poly 1.6g); IRON 2.5mg; CHOLESTEROL 70mg; CALCIUM 216mg; CARBOHYDRATE 13.4g; SODIUM 578mg; PROTEIN 29.7g; FIBER 3.5g

Cooking Light, JULY 2007

Wednesday, August 19, 2009

Gruyère, Arugula, and Prosciutto-Stuffed Chicken Breasts with Caramelized Shallot Sauce

Yum! This was really good. D made 4 servings. Of course that was only 2 breasts since chicken breasts here are humongous! I just cut my breast in half. I didn't here much going on in the kitchen so I think it was easy to make.

If you pay attention, you can get the ingredients (cheese and prosciutto) at Whole Foods cheaper than at Kroger, but you have to pay attention to the deli man and make sure he slices from the $10/lb prosciutto instead of the $24/lb. I have found gourmet cheese is always cheaper at WF than Kroger, amazingly.

You can also make more or less than 6 servings.

We had with Broccoli with Red Pepper.

Gruyère, Arugula, and Prosciutto-Stuffed Chicken Breasts with Caramelized Shallot Sauce

Stuffing the chicken a day ahead and refrigerating it makes it easier to sauté.


Chicken:
6 (4-ounce) skinless, boneless chicken breast halves
6 (1/2-ounce) slices prosciutto
6 (1/2-ounce) slices Gruyère cheese
1 1/2 cups trimmed arugula
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon olive oil

Sauce:
1 cup thinly sliced shallots
2 teaspoons tomato paste
2 cups dry white wine
2 1/4 cups fat-free, less-sodium chicken broth
1 1/2 teaspoons water
1 teaspoon cornstarch

Preheat oven to 350°.

To prepare the chicken, place each chicken breast half between 2 sheets of heavy-duty plastic wrap; pound to 1/4-inch thickness using a meat mallet or rolling pin. Discard plastic wrap. Top each chicken breast half with 1 slice prosciutto, 1 slice cheese, and 1/4 cup arugula, leaving a 1/4-inch border around edges. Fold in half, pinching edges together to seal; sprinkle with salt and pepper. (The chicken can be prepared up to a day ahead and refrigerated at this point.)

Dredge chicken in flour, shaking off excess. Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add chicken; cook 5 minutes on each side. Place chicken in a shallow baking pan; bake at 350° for 5 minutes or until done. Keep warm.

To prepare sauce, add shallots to skillet; sauté 4 minutes over medium-high heat or until browned. Add tomato paste; cook 1 minute, stirring constantly. Stir in wine; bring to a boil over high heat. Cook until reduced to 1 cup (about 6 minutes). Add broth; bring to a boil. Cook until reduced by half (about 8 minutes).

Combine water and cornstarch in a small bowl, stirring with a fork until smooth. Add cornstarch mixture to sauce; bring to a boil. Cook 1 minute, stirring constantly.



Yield: 6 servings (serving size: 1 chicken breast half and about 1/4 cup sauce)

CALORIES 300 (29% from fat); FAT 9.8g (sat 4g,mono 4g,poly 0.9g); IRON 1.7mg; CHOLESTEROL 75mg; CALCIUM 189mg; CARBOHYDRATE 9.7g; SODIUM 562mg; PROTEIN 29.7g; FIBER 0.5g

Cooking Light, SEPTEMBER 2002

Thursday, August 13, 2009

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

So this got 5 stars on CL, and is floating around WeWa as terrific. I thought it was on the gross side. Too much tomato sauce (which I'm not a fan of). And the mushrooms (which I love) tasted jarred or canned (herck) even though I saw them fresh.

If there were no sauce or mushrooms, this might have been decent.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo


Italian for "brother devil," fra diavolo sauce is usually tomato-based and always spicy. Although not traditionally included, mushrooms offer an earthiness that balances the sauce's heat. For a truly fiery dish, increase the crushed red pepper to 3/4 teaspoon.

8 ounces uncooked spaghetti
1 tablespoon olive oil
4 cups sliced cremini mushrooms (about 10 ounces)
2 1/2 cups Basic Marinara (I used Barilla or Classico)
1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1 pound peeled and deveined medium shrimp
Parsley sprigs (optional)


Cook pasta according to package directions. Drain; keep warm.

Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add mushrooms to pan; sauté 6 minutes. Add Basic Marinara, red pepper, salt, and black pepper; bring to a simmer. Cook 5 minutes. Add shrimp; cook 3 minutes or until shrimp are done. Serve over pasta. Garnish with parsley sprigs, if desired.

Yield: 4 servings (serving size: 1 1/4 cups shrimp mixture and about 1 cup pasta)

CALORIES 439 (17% from fat); FAT 8.5g (sat 1.3g,mono 4.4g,poly 1.7g); IRON 5.7mg; CHOLESTEROL 172mg; CALCIUM 118mg; CARBOHYDRATE 56.5g; SODIUM 660mg; PROTEIN 33.8g; FIBER 5g

Cooking Light, OCTOBER 2007

Wednesday, August 12, 2009

Chicken Baked in Coconut-Curry Sauce

This dish was digustingly bland. It reminded me of the meal that D made where he had to poach chicken in plastic and it ended up looking like condoms. But that was another recipe...

This recipe was watery. The coconut milk broke down or something. Reading the reviews at CL, most people agreed this recipe was just gross.

Chicken Baked in Coconut-Curry Sauce


The rich coconut milk, hot curry paste, and garlic create a sauce that keeps the chicken moist. Serve over basmati rice.

1/2 cup coconut milk
1/4 cup fat-free, less-sodium chicken broth
2 teaspoons minced garlic
1 to 1 1/2 teaspoons red curry paste
4 (6-ounce) skinless, boneless chicken breast halves
3/4 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
2 medium zucchini, halved lengthwise and thinly sliced (about 2 cups)
1 cup thinly sliced yellow squash (about 2 small)
1 cup 1/4-inch-thick red bell pepper strips (about 1 large)
1/2 cup diagonally cut green onions
4 teaspoons chopped fresh cilantro
4 lime wedges


Preheat oven to 425°.

Combine first 4 ingredients in a medium bowl; stir with a whisk.

Place chicken breast halves between 2 sheets of heavy-duty plastic wrap; pound each piece to an even thickness using a meat mallet or small heavy skillet. Sprinkle salt and pepper evenly over both sides of chicken.

Fold 4 (16 x 12-inch) sheets of heavy-duty aluminum foil in half crosswise. Open foil; layer 1/2 cup zucchini, 1/4 cup squash, 1/4 cup bell pepper, 2 tablespoons green onions, and 1 chicken breast half on half of each foil sheet. Spoon 3 tablespoons of coconut milk mixture over each serving. Fold foil over chicken and vegetables; tightly seal edges.

Place packets on a baking sheet. Bake at 425° for 22 minutes. Remove from oven; let stand 5 minutes. Place on plates. Unfold packets carefully, and sprinkle each serving with 1 teaspoon cilantro. Garnish with lime wedges. Serve immediately.

Yield: 4 servings (serving size: 1 packet and 1 lime wedge)

CALORIES 278 (27% from fat); FAT 8.4g (sat 5.9g,mono 0.8g,poly 0.6g); IRON 2.8mg; CHOLESTEROL 99mg; CALCIUM 57mg; CARBOHYDRATE 8.4g; SODIUM 523mg; PROTEIN 41.7g; FIBER 2.3g

Cooking Light, APRIL 2007

Grilled Tomato and Brie Sandwiches

Like grown-up grilled cheese. This was really good. D added a chicken breast to the 2 servings he made for us. The only thing better would have been on better bread. We had with a spinach salad (to use up the extra spinach...couldn't find arugula).

I also made one for breakfast. Incredibly easy to make.

Grilled Tomato and Brie Sandwiches

These sandwiches make the most of juicy, flavorful summer tomatoes. Serve with grapes or carrot sticks.

8 (1-ounce) slices 100% whole-grain bread (about 1/4 inch thick)
1 teaspoon olive oil
1 garlic clove, halved
2 teaspoons country-style Dijon mustard
4 ounces Brie cheese, thinly sliced

1 1/3 cups packaged baby arugula and spinach greens (such as Dole)
8 (1/4-inch-thick) slices beefsteak tomato
Cooking spray


1. Prepare grill to high heat.

2. Brush one side of each bread slice with oil; rub cut sides of garlic over oil. Spread 1/2 teaspoon mustard on each of 4 bread slices, oil side down. Top each bread slice with 1 ounce cheese, 1/3 cup greens, and 2 tomato slices. Top each with remaining 4 bread slices, oil side up.

3. Place sandwiches on grill rack coated with cooking spray; grill 2 minutes on each side or until lightly toasted and cheese melts.

Yield: 4 servings (serving size: 1 sandwich)

CALORIES 234 ; FAT 10.1g (sat 5.1g,mono 3.1g,poly 1g); CHOLESTEROL 28mg; CALCIUM 210mg; CARBOHYDRATE 26.9g; SODIUM 445mg; PROTEIN 11g; FIBER 6.5g; IRON 1.8mg

Cooking Light, JUNE 2009

Wednesday, August 5, 2009

Chicken Stroganoff

So I made this since D had to work. For some reason, I always make a stroganoff type dish when I have to cook. This one was by far the easiest. First, it involved 1 pot and 1 pan. Second, I cut the onions and the chicken while the bacon was cooking, and prepped everything else while the chicken was cooking. So it came together easily.

Taste- Very rich. I liked it a lot. D had it lukewarm. He commented on the bacon (it was good). I made Broccoli with Shallots to go with.

Chicken Stroganoff


Photo by ALB

Ingredients

4 turkey-bacon slices (used center-cut bacon)
1 1/2 cups chopped onion (I used 1 onion, it came about 1 to 1.25 C)
1 pound skinless, boneless chicken breasts, cut into 1/4-inch strips
1 1/2 cups fat-free, less-sodium chicken broth
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1/4 teaspoon paprika
2 garlic cloves, minced (I used 6)
1 (8-ounce) container reduced-fat sour cream
2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
4 cups hot cooked medium egg noodles


Preparation
Cook bacon in a large nonstick skillet over medium heat until crisp. Remove bacon from pan; crumble. Add onion and chicken to drippings in pan; sauté 6 minutes. Add bacon, broth, salt, pepper, paprika, and garlic; bring to a boil. Cover, reduce heat, and simmer 10 minutes.
Combine the sour cream and flour, stirring until smooth. Add sour cream mixture to pan, and bring to a boil. Reduce heat, and simmer 2 minutes, stirring constantly. Serve over egg noodles.
Yield: 4 servings (serving size: 1 cup stroganoff and 1 cup noodles)

CALORIES 514 (25% from fat); FAT 14.1g (sat 6.4g,mono 4.3g,poly 1.7g); IRON 2.4mg; CHOLESTEROL 162mg; CALCIUM 154mg; CARBOHYDRATE 53.3g; SODIUM 770mg; PROTEIN 41.1g; FIBER 3.1g

Cooking Light, APRIL 2003

Tuesday, August 4, 2009

Chicken Cacciatore "Pronto"

So I looked at this recipe and decided to try it. I had never had Chicken Cacciatore, and it had things I liked. It wasn't until the middle of making it, that D informed me he despises Chicken Cacciatore. Oh well. He said he would try it. We were having technical issues (internet) in the house, and so that was a distraction, so I'm not sure if it was easy or not.

We had with Spaghetti and Zucchini. Result: We both felt it was missing something. It was rather plan. We probably won't have again. It was even plainer for lunch left overs.

Chicken Cacciatore "Pronto"


"I took the classic theme of chicken cacciatore (which is usually made with a whole chicken) and re-created it with a minimum of ingredients and cooking time. The result is lots of flavor from using only chicken thighs and a base layer of seasoning from dried porcini mushrooms--a perfect weeknight or 'everyday' meal." - Michael Chiarello

1 (1/2-ounce) package dried porcini mushrooms
1 cup hot water
2 teaspoons olive oil
8 skinless, boneless chicken thighs (about 1 pound)
1 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
3 garlic cloves, minced
3 tablespoons minced fresh parsley, divided
3/4 cup canned crushed tomatoes
1/2 cup fat-free, less-sodium chicken broth
1/2 cup water

Combine mushrooms and hot water in a bowl; cover and let stand 30 minutes. Remove mushrooms with slotted spoon. Finely chop mushrooms; set aside. Strain the soaking liquid into a bowl through a sieve lined with cheesecloth or paper towels. Discard solids; reserve soaking liquid.

Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Sprinkle chicken with salt and pepper. Add chicken to pan; cook 4 minutes on each side or until browned. Remove chicken from pan. Reduce heat to medium. Add garlic to pan; cook 2 minutes or until golden, stirring constantly. Add 2 tablespoons parsley; cook 30 seconds, stirring constantly. Add chopped mushrooms; cook 30 seconds, stirring constantly. Stir in the reserved soaking liquid, tomatoes, broth, and water; bring to a simmer. Return chicken to pan, and reduce heat to low. Cover and cook for 10 minutes or until the chicken is done.

Remove chicken; keep warm. Increase heat to medium-high; cook until sauce is reduced to 1 cup (about 5 minutes). Spoon sauce over chicken; sprinkle with 1 tablespoon parsley.



Yield: 4 servings (serving size: 2 chicken thighs and 1/4 cup sauce)

CALORIES 263 (29% from fat); FAT 8.5g (sat 1.7g,mono 3.7g,poly 1.8g); IRON 5.7mg; CHOLESTEROL 115mg; CALCIUM 31.6mg; CARBOHYDRATE 11.7g; SODIUM 771mg; PROTEIN 33.6g; FIBER 3.5g

Cooking Light, OCTOBER 2003

Sunday, August 2, 2009

Bottle o’ Beer Chicken Thighs

I made the marinade for this. It was easy to make. D grilled. Very flavorful.
I think the NI is off (I put it in Sparkpeople) because it was a marinade, and we didn't eat all of the marinade. We had with Porcini Risotto.


Bottle o’ Beer Chicken Thighs

Weber’s Real Grilling Copyright 2005

1 bottle (12 oz) beer, preferably lager ( I used a Longboard Lager)
¼ cup Dijon mustard
3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
Photo by ALB
6 scallions, white and light green parts only, thinly sliced
2 large cloves garlic, thinly sliced
1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
1 teaspoon Kosher salt
½ teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
¼ teaspoon Tabasco sauce
8 chicken thighs (with bone and skin), 5 to 6 ounces each

1. To make the marinade: In a medium bowl, whisk the marinade ingredients.
2. Trim the thighs of any excess skin and fat. Place in a large, resealable plastic bag and pour in the marinade. Press the air out of the bag and seal tightly. Turn the bag to distribute the marinade, place in a bowl, and refrigerate for 6 to 8 hours, turning occasionally.
3. Remove the thighs from the bag and discard marinade. Pat dry with paper towels then grill over Direct Medium heat, skin side down first, until the meat next to the bone is opaque, about 20 minutes, turning every 5 minutes. Serve warm.

Makes 4 servings.

Calories: 341.2
Total Fat: 16.3g
Fiber: .7g

Risotto with Porcini Mushrooms and Mascarpone

Really good. It had a nutty flavor and was creamy. We had with Beer Chicken Thighs.

Risotto with Porcini Mushrooms and Mascarpone


1 1/2 cups boiling water
1/2 cup dried porcini mushrooms (about 1/2 ounce)
1 (14-ounce) can less-sodium beef broth
Cooking spray
1 cup uncooked Arborio rice or other short-grain rice
3/4 cup chopped shallots
2 garlic cloves, minced
1/2 cup dry white wine
1/4 cup (2 ounces) grated Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese
1/4 cup (1 ounce) mascarpone cheese
1 tablespoon chopped fresh or 1 teaspoon dried thyme
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper


Combine boiling water and mushrooms; let stand 10 minutes or until soft. Drain through a colander over a bowl. Reserve 1 1/4 cups soaking liquid, and chop mushrooms.

Bring soaking liquid and broth to a simmer in a small saucepan (do not boil). Keep broth mixture warm over low heat.

Heat a large saucepan over medium-high heat. Coat pan with cooking spray. Add rice, shallots, and garlic; sauté 5 minutes. Add wine, and cook until liquid evaporates (about 2 minutes).

Add 1 cup broth mixture to rice mixture; cook over medium heat 5 minutes or until the liquid is nearly absorbed, stirring occasionally. Add remaining broth mixture, 1/2 cup at a time, stirring occasionally until each portion of broth mixture is absorbed before adding the next (about 25 minutes total). Add mushrooms, cheeses, thyme, salt, and pepper; stir gently just until the cheese melts. Serve warm.

Yield: 4 servings (serving size: 1 cup)

CALORIES 198 (28% from fat); FAT 6.1g (sat 3.2g,mono 1g,poly 0.3g); IRON 1.9mg; CHOLESTEROL 15mg; CALCIUM 113mg; CARBOHYDRATE 27g; SODIUM 449mg; PROTEIN 8.9g; FIBER 1.2g

Cooking Light, DECEMBER 2005

Saturday, August 1, 2009

Flank Steak and Edamame with Wasabi Dressing

So D made this tonight. Our edamame was not shelled, which just slows your eating and makes you full faster. I put the dressing on both. It was really good. D thought the steak was plain without the dressing. He said it was really easy to make. We had with mashed potatoes.

We don't have wasabi paste...make it with powder and water.

Flank Steak and Edamame with Wasabi Dressing


Wasabi paste, Japanese horseradish, has a distinctive flavor.

1 (1-pound) flank steak, trimmed
2 tablespoons plus 2 teaspoons low-sodium soy sauce, divided
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
Cooking spray
2 teaspoons dark sesame oil
1 tablespoon bottled ground fresh ginger (such as Spice World)
2 teaspoons bottled minced garlic
1 (10-ounce) package frozen shelled edamame (green soybeans), thawed
1/4 cup rice vinegar
2 teaspoons wasabi paste

Heat a grill pan over medium-high heat. Rub steak with 2 teaspoons soy sauce; sprinkle with salt and pepper. Coat pan with cooking spray. Add steak to pan. Cook for 5 minutes on each side or until desired degree of doneness. Remove from pan; let stand 10 minutes. Cut steak diagonally across the grain into 1/2-inch-thick slices.

Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium heat. Add ginger and garlic; sauté 1 minute, stirring occasionally. Add remaining 2 tablespoons soy sauce and edamame to pan; cook 2 minutes.

Combine vinegar and wasabi paste in a bowl, stirring until smooth. Place 1/2 cup edamame mixture on each of 4 plates. Top each serving with 3 ounces steak; drizzle each with 1 tablespoon vinegar mixture.

Yield: 4 servings

CALORIES 253 (42% from fat); FAT 11.9g (sat 3g,mono 3.7g,poly 3.9g); IRON 2.8mg; CHOLESTEROL 28mg; CALCIUM 64mg; CARBOHYDRATE 5.9g; SODIUM 653mg; PROTEIN 27.7g; FIBER 0.1g

Cooking Light, SEPTEMBER 2007

Wednesday, July 29, 2009

Chicken and Sausage Gumbo

So D made this. He said making the roux was a bit of a PITA. I thought it was off that there was no okra in the gumbo, but not a huge biggie. We both thought the end result was a little on the bland side. However the next day for lunch it had a lot more flavor. We had with a spinach salad.

Chicken and Sausage Gumbo

"I grew up in New Orleans and love Cajun and Creole dishes. I have found ways of modifying many of my family's recipes to make them healthier." --Marian Wright, Houston

1/4 cup all-purpose flour (about 1 ounce)
2 tablespoons olive oil
2 1/2 cups finely chopped yellow onion (1 large)
1 1/2 cups finely chopped green bell pepper (1 large)
1 cup finely chopped celery
3 garlic cloves, minced
1 1/2 pounds skinless, boneless chicken breast, cut into 1 1/2-inch pieces
8 ounces light smoked sausage, cut into 1-inch pieces (such as Healthy Choice brand)
2 (14 1/2-ounce) cans no-salt-added organic diced tomatoes
2 (14-ounce) cans fat-free, less-sodium chicken broth
1/4 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
2 bay leaves
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1/4 teaspoon hot sauce
3 cups hot cooked rice


Place flour in a large Dutch oven over medium heat; cook 20 minutes or until light brown, stirring constantly with a whisk. (If flour browns too fast, remove pan from heat; stir constantly until it cools down.) Remove flour from pan, and set aside.

Add oil to pan. Stir in onion, bell pepper, and celery; cook 10 minutes or until onion is tender, stirring frequently. Stir in garlic; cook 30 seconds. Remove onion mixture from pan; set aside.

Increase heat to medium-high; add chicken and sausage to pan. Cook 4 minutes or until chicken is done; return onion mixture to pan. Remove pan from heat. Sprinkle reserved flour over chicken mixture; stir well. Return pan to medium heat. Drain 1 can tomatoes; stir in 1 can drained tomatoes and 1 can undrained tomatoes. Cook 2 minutes, stirring constantly. Add broth, Worcestershire, and bay leaves; bring to a boil, stirring constantly. Cover, reduce heat, and simmer 30 minutes, stirring occasionally. Discard bay leaves. Stir in salt, black pepper, and hot sauce. Serve over rice.

Yield: 6 servings (serving size: 1 2/3 cups gumbo and 1/2 cup rice)

CALORIES 419 (20% from fat); FAT 9.2g (sat 2.1g,mono 4.2g,poly 1.1g); IRON 3.5mg; CHOLESTEROL 82mg; CALCIUM 42mg; CARBOHYDRATE 44.2g; SODIUM 888mg; PROTEIN 35.8g; FIBER 3.3g

Cooking Light, JUNE 2007

Thursday, July 23, 2009

Black Pepper Shrimp

I was really not all that impressed with this dish. It has so many ingredients that D and I love, and yet it was very bland. I could taste the black pepper but it wasn't overwhelming. Soy, chile pastse, sugar...not so much. The mushrooms had a good flavor, but that was it. D made it pretty quickly.

Black Pepper Shrimp


This Vietnamese-inspired meal is at its best with freshly ground black pepper.


3/4 cup organic vegetable broth (such as Swanson Certified Organic)
1 tablespoon cornstarch
2 tablespoons low-sodium soy sauce
1 tablespoon sherry
1 teaspoon brown sugar
1 to 3 teaspoons chile paste (such as sambal oelek)
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon canola oil
2 teaspoons grated peeled fresh ginger
2 garlic cloves, minced
2 cups (1/2-inch) slices bok choy (about 4 1/2 ounces)
1 cup sliced shiitake mushrooms
1/4 cup chopped green onions
1 1/2 pounds peeled and deveined large shrimp
4 cups hot cooked rice


Combine broth and next 7 ingredients (through salt) in a medium bowl, and stir with a whisk. Set aside.

Heat oil in a wok or large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add ginger and garlic; stir-fry 30 seconds. Add bok choy, mushrooms, onions, and shrimp. Stir-fry 3 minutes or until bok choy begins to wilt. Add broth mixture to pan; bring to a boil. Cover, reduce heat, and simmer 10 minutes or until vegetables are tender and shrimp are done. Serve over rice.

Yield: 4 servings (serving size: 3/4 cup shrimp mixture and 1 cup rice)

CALORIES 465 (14% from fat); FAT 7.1g (sat 1g,mono 2.7g,poly 2.4g); IRON 6.8mg; CHOLESTEROL 259mg; CALCIUM 149mg; CARBOHYDRATE 57.3g; SODIUM 831mg; PROTEIN 40.5g; FIBER 2.1g

Cooking Light, MAY 2007

Wednesday, July 22, 2009

Tequila Pork Chile Verde

So D made this after we went on a 2 mile run. Actually he prepped it while I was driving home. Contrary to some of the reviews on CL, we both thought it was really good, and had a lot of flavor. He said he put the tequila in when he added the broth. We had with yellow rice and black beans. Will have again.

Tequila Pork Chile Verde


Fresh tomatillos come in papery husks, which peel off easily to reveal what looks like small green tomatoes. They have a tart lemony flavor and must be cooked before eating; a brief stewing will mellow the flavor while leaving some of the characteristic tang. Time: 35 minutes.

2 teaspoons canola oil
3 tablespoons yellow cornmeal
1 tablespoon ancho chile powder
1 pound pork tenderloin, trimmed and cut into 3/4-inch pieces
2 cups coarsely chopped fresh tomatillos (about 12 ounces)
1 (14-ounce) can fat-free, less-sodium chicken broth
1 (4.5-ounce) can chopped mild green chiles, drained
1 jalapeño pepper, seeded and finely chopped
1/2 cup thinly sliced green onions
1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
2 tablespoons tequila
1/4 teaspoon salt


Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat.

Combine cornmeal and chile powder in a medium bowl. Add pork, tossing to coat. Remove pork from bowl, reserving any remaining cornmeal mixture. Add pork to pan; sauté 5 minutes or until browned. Stir in remaining cornmeal mixture; cook 30 seconds, stirring constantly. Stir in tomatillos, broth, chiles, and jalapeño; bring to a simmer over medium-low heat. Cook 8 minutes or until tomatillos are tender. Stir in onions and remaining ingredients; simmer 1 minute.

Yield: 4 servings (serving size: 1 1/4 cups)

CALORIES 245 (27% from fat); FAT 7.4g (sat 1.7g,mono 3.3g,poly 1.6g); IRON 2.7mg; CHOLESTEROL 74mg; CALCIUM 30mg; CARBOHYDRATE 14.8g; SODIUM 407mg; PROTEIN 26.5g; FIBER 3.4g

Cooking Light, OCTOBER 2007

Saturday, July 11, 2009

Sausage, Pepper, and Mushroom Pizza

Yum! We had left over sausage from the sausage calzones earlier in the week. So I cooked that up (spicy sausage) and D sliced everything and then I sauteed it. The taste was outstanding. We each had 2 servings and no side.

Sausage, Pepper, and Mushroom Pizza


Photo by ALB

Fresh ingredients shine atop a time-saving store-bought pizza crust. Sautéed broccoli rabe brings pleasant bitter notes to the meal. Bring lightly salted water to a boil in a large saucepan. Add 4 cups chopped broccoli rabe; cook 2 minutes. Drain and rinse with cold water; drain well. Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add 1 tablespoon olive oil to pan; swirl to coat. Add broccoli rabe and 1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper to pan; sauté 2 minutes or until thoroughly heated. Sprinkle with 1/4 teaspoon salt.

Ingredients
1 (4-ounce) sweet Italian sausage link
1 cup thinly sliced onion
1/2 cup thinly sliced red bell pepper
1 (8-ounce) package presliced exotic mushroom blend (such as shiitake, cremini, and oyster)

2 garlic cloves, minced
1 (14-ounce) prepared pizza crust (such as Boboli)
1/2 cup fat-free pasta sauce
3/4 cup (3 ounces) shredded part-skim mozzarella cheese
2 tablespoons thinly sliced fresh basil


Preparation
1. Preheat oven to 450°.
2. Remove casing from sausage. Cook sausage in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat until browned, stirring to crumble. Add onion, pepper, and mushrooms to pan; sauté 8 minutes or until tender. Stir in garlic; sauté 1 minute. Place crust on a large baking sheet. Spread pasta sauce evenly over crust, leaving a 1/4-inch border. Top evenly with mushroom mixture. Sprinkle evenly with cheese. Bake at 450° for 8 minutes. Remove from oven; sprinkle evenly with basil. Cut pizza into 8 wedges.


Yield: 4 servings (serving size: 2 wedges)

CALORIES 400 ; FAT 10.9g (sat 4.6g,mono 4.7g,poly 0.9g); CHOLESTEROL 20mg; CALCIUM 451mg; CARBOHYDRATE 52g; SODIUM 943mg; PROTEIN 23.8g; FIBER 3g; IRON 3.5mg

Cooking Light, JULY 2009